Fleche 2017


IMG_14582017 Derry Finish


2017 Derry Finish

2017 was Ireland’s eighth year taking part in The Easter Fleche and our first finish in Ulster. This year saw 2 Irish teams take part, joining fellow cyclists the world over by riding a minimum of 360k over a 24hr period. Both teams started in Dublin and finished in Derry. A third team consisting of Bernard Flynn, Carmel Claffey, Andrew Fay and Dermot Hogan rode an unofficial Fleche from Mullingar westaward and back to Mullingar.

Team A, 3 Men and a Lady, consisted of Niall Diamond, Andreas Voigt, Helen Kerrane ( St Tiernans) and Aidan Creaner.

Team B, Last Ditch Attempt, consisted of Conor Daly, Danny Moriarty (Orwell Wheelers) and Seamus O’Dowd

Congratulations to all the participants and a special mention to Niall and Andreas who have completed every Fleche since its inception in 2010. Aidan is also notable for completing his seventh Fleche. A special word of appreciation to Eoghan Barry, now U.S. based, who had the foresight and energy to get the Fleche up and running as part of the cycling calendar.


Inaugural Fleche pulls into Aughrim, Co Wicklow for a welcome cup of coffee. Mark Tyrrell, Eoghan Barry and Niall Diamond. ( Andreas absent).


Anywhere, anytime, any Fleche

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.