Fleche Update 2016

Audax Ireland Easter Fleche 2016

Easter is almost here, and seven teams are lined up for the traditional Easter Fleche 24-hour ride, which finishes in Galway this year.

Eamon Nealon has 2 teams of 3 riders checking out sections of the WAWA for the big event next Summer.  WAWA1 includes Eamon, Noel Moloney and Seamus O’Dowd, who will start in Ballina, head out for a lap of Achill Island, and then down to Galway, 367kms.  Team WAWA2 includes Jim Fitzpatrick, Patrick Dease and Paul Gosney, who start in Oranmore, follow the WAW northwards along the coast through Clifden, Westport and Castlebar, and then drop back down to Galway, 371kms.

Paul Burchmore has drafted in 2 teams of 4 from Ballinamallard-based Mallard Flyers Cycling Club.  Team Rivelo comprises Roger Haveron, Gareth McCormick, Mark Palmer and Paul, who will head south east to the border, then head west to Foxford, Castlebar, Westport, and then down to Galway via Delphi.  Team Pushing On members are Simon Gray, John Vaughan, Kyle Somerville and Brian Armstrong.  They head off in the opposite direction to their clubmates, north west almost as far as Donegal before heading south west through Sligo, Knock, out to Clifden and turning back south east to Galway.  That turn for Clifden will be hard in the early hours, with Galway almost within touching distance.  The Mallard teams plan to cover 389 and 402kms respectively.  They will be riding Thursday to Friday, while the others will all start Friday morning, and finish Saturday morning.

Terence Rea’s 5-man team, The Easter Rebels, from de Ronde van Cork CC includes himself, Paul Griffin, Thomas Moore, Derek Barrett and Sheamus Hayden.  Their planned route is 503kms from Cork to Kildare, and then on to Athlone and Galway.  They are the only team hoping to crack the 500km mark this year.

Team Sleepless in the Saddle includes Andreas Voigt, Aidan Creaner, William Dickey, Helen Kerrane and Niall Diamond.  We’ll head off from O’Connell Bridge on Friday morning, and ride 405kms to Galway via Carlow, New Ross, Cashel, Limerick and Ennis.

Finally, team MARDERCAR & BER is comprised of Martin O’Brien, Dermot Hogan, Carmel Claffey, Andrew Fay and Bernard Flynn.  They will be starting in Mullingar, and will ride down through West Wicklow and on to Thurles, New Ross, Birr and up to the finish.  Their planned distance is 412kms.

Fleche rules and info are here for anyone who’s interested  http://www.audaxireland.org/events-calendar/gazetteer/easter-fleche/

Best of luck to all the participants for a safe and successful ride, and I look forward to seeing most of you in Galway on Saturday for a well-earned breakfast !

Map Team Rivelo
Map Pushing On
Map The Easter Rebels
Map Sleepless in the Saddle


Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.