Killeshin 200 permanent

Killeshin 200 (around Co. Carlow) Permanent

Organiser: Seamus O’Leary


RwGPS Map (Original):

RwGPS Map (Flatter option):

Entry Fee: €5 by PayPal to

or by post, payable to Audax Ireland, to:
Andreas Voigt, 12 Brookville Park, Malahide Road, Artane, Dublin 5, D05 F6T2.

Please remember to say which event and which rider you are paying for.

There are 2 versions of this route to choose from:
Original Version – Controls as follows: Templeludigan (74km); Rathvilly (141km); Crookstown (165km); and Killeshin (201km).
Flatter Version – Controls as follows: Templeludigan (61km); Castledermot (128km); Nurney (155km); and Killeshin (201km).

The original route follows the Carlow county boundary, taking in surrounding counties and some of Carlow’s best scenery. Starting in Killeshin village with a steady climb to the top of Rossmore Hill
for good views across Carlow, the route then descends quickly to cross the River Barrow. The second climb of the route comes before Graignamanagh, Co Kilkenny leading to great views of the
entire Blackstairs Mountain range.
The flatter version follows a similar route, but avoids those two bigger climbs. Both routes merge prior to the first control in Templeludigan to follow rolling hills around the scenic Blackstairs Mountains and along the River Slaney.
The routes split again after Ardattin, with the original taking in Rathvilly while the flatter version heads straight for Castledermot. Both routes then head north towards the centre of Co Kildare before eventually turning back for Killeshin.
This will be a Calendar event during September, and can be ridden as a Permanent at any time, by arrangement with Seamus.
Cycling Ireland Licence required, Permanents cannot be ridden on a 1-day Licence.

Please see this page for details of Permanent rides. Permanents page

See also

Long-distance cycling in Ireland